EXCLUSIVE; Fresh Plot To Replace House of Assembly Names Uncovered in Lagos APC by INEC

As the 2019 general elections in Nigeria is fast approaching, there are allegations that some members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in collaboration with some INEC staff presented forged documents containing fake withdrawal forms of their House of Assembly candidates.

According to information gathered, this breach by INEC is reportedly happening on Lagos State House of Assembly candidates list for Amuwo Odofin Constituency 2, Ajeromi Ifelodun Constituency 1 and Lagos Island Constituency 2.

“INEC is substituting the lawful candidates of APC with some other persons. The signatures of the candidates were forged respectively.

The three candidates for Lagos State House of Assembly whose identities are forged have earlier written the INEC Chairman through their Lawyers having noticed the possibility of such forgery.

The candidates are: Honourable Rauf Olawale Age-Sulaiman, representing Amuwo-Odofin Constituency 2, Honourable Olumoh Said Lukman, representing Ajeromi Ifelodun Constituency 1 and Honourable Olanrewaju Suleiman Afinni representing Lagos Island Constituency 2,” an insider revealed.

It was further gathered that the three troubled candidates have affirmed that they have never been party to such arrangement and as such, they are still the candidates for the House of Assembly election coming up on 2nd of March 2019.

They also confirmed that they did not empower any person or group of persons to forge their identities.
Standing on the Electoral Act of Section 33 which totally forbids the substitution of candidates of Political Parties after the nomination and submission of the list of candidates to the Commission after the expiry of the statutory window, they trio are crying foul.

(S.33 …” A Political Party shall not be allowed to change or substitute a candidate whose name has been submitted pursuant to section 31 of this Act, except in the case of death or withdrawal by the candidate”.)
On the other hand, it was also noted that the alleged impostors who forged the signatures are Hon. Dayo Famakinwa( Ajeromi Ifelodun Constituency 1), Hon.Sola Giwa (Lagos Island 2) and Akeem Bello (Amuwo Odofin 2) were sited today parading themselves at the International Conference Centre Annex of INEC in Abuja.

“They were telling whoever cared to listen that the APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu is in total support of their plans to forge and substitute the names of Olumoh ( Ajeromi Ifelodun 1), Afinni ( Lagos Island 2) and Suleiman (Amuwo-Odofin 2)
We are however aware that these impostors want to tarnish the reputation of Asiwaju who is believed to be a true democrat and an agitator for justice and equity.

The trio were also attempted bribing some INEC officials to implement the substitution.
We are hereby notifying the Nigerian people and especially INEC of the antics of such unscrupulous persons in the Commission aimed at subverting the provision of the law so that the Commission can avert same and give effect to Section 33 of the Act,” another close added.

Categories: Politics